Culbert snatches a draw for Kilmurry.. (SMB GAA Notes)

Kilmurry 3-5 v 1-11 St. Finnachta’s

Parish League Round 4 @ Seanchoill

This clash was crucial for either team with a win necessary to keep up their respective chances of a final spot. Of course, a win for wither side along with a St. Mary’s victory over Cappa would leave it all to play for in the final round. Unfortunately, for anyone involved with this duo a draw was the end result and Cappa won the second match.

Due to a shortage of players on the evening due to work commitments and injuries Kilmurry had to borrow a St. Finnachta’s player and the match was contested as fourteen a side. This did not take anything away from the competiveness of this tie with some good hurling on show. The village got off to a better start and had a few early scores on the board from Pa Sheehan and Niall Gilligan, one of five former Kilmurry players in the village lineup, who lined out at centre back. Kilmurry replied back with efforts of their own with Christy Griffin and Tommy Morey on the mark before Brian Culbert gave Stephen Stewart no chance to notch his first goal of the evening. Down the other end Sam O’Sullivan had a goal chance but his flick went narrowly over the bar. The half time score was 1-4 to 0-5 in favour of Kilmurry.

The second half saw St. Finnachta’s make a comeback with Thomas Liddy getting their goal while he along with Gilligan, Pa Sheehan, Eoin Loughnane and Stiofáin Fitzpatrick notched points. However, Culbert was in scoring form for the marron clad Kilmurry and he added two goals. The final one came at the end when a Kevin Fennessy twenty one metre free was saved with Culbert slamming the rebound home.

Both sides had their chances to win this match but in the end it finished all square with a draw a fair result. Kilmurry were served well by Brian Carey, Ed Skehan, Kevin Fennessy, Christy Griffin and hat trick hero Brian Culbert. For the village outfit, Kevin Phelan, Niall Gilligan, Pa Sheehan, Eoin Loughnane and Sam O’Sullivan had their moments.

Kilmurry: Pa Freeman; Darragh McNamara, Brian Carey, Barry Donnellan; Ed Skehan, Tommy Morey (0-1), Kevin Fennessy; Christy Griffin (0-1), Brian Culbert (3-2); Barry Corbett, Errol Tuohy (0-1), Paul Corbett; Seanie Murray, Liam Togher.

St. Finnachta’s: Stephen Stewart; Jonathan Hayes, Kevin Phelan, Conor Murphy; Billy Maxwell, Niall Gilligan (0-4), David O’Meara; Anthony Liddane, Pa Sheehan (0-3); Eoin Loughnane (0-1), Sam O’Sullivan (0-1), Thomas Liddy (1-1); Dean McKenna, Stiofáin Fitzpatrick (0-1).

Sub: Eoin O’Halloran.

Referee: Jack Chaplin (Cratloe).